• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

Teaching Math

I don’t completely agree. My degree is in computer science and during a 37 year career i wrote exactly zero compilers or operating systems. But that wasn’t the worth of college. A good part of the worth is in teaching you - forcing you - to think.

37 years ago we could not give grade school kids tablets more powerful than the IBM 3033 mainframe that cost $3,000,000 in 1980.

37 years ago there were not 67,000 free public domain works in Project Gutenberg. PG only had 2000 works by 2001.

37 years ago we could not give grade school kids tablets more powerful than the IBM 3033 mainframe that cost $3,000,000 in 1980.

37 years ago there were not 67,000 free public domain works in Project Gutenberg. PG only had 2000 works by 2001.
Absolutely correct and technology puts a vast amount of knowledge at your fingertips but that’s only part of the equation. Correlating information in a coherent picture and drawing inferences from it is something machines really can’t teach you to do.

An 8th grade education doesn’t prepare anyone for anything. HS isn’t a whole lot better. And I’m not saying college is for everyone. It isn’t. Education IS for everyone - even if your education consists entirely of reading.