• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

I'm new to debate forums and having problems.

craig

Supporting Member
DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Moderate
I think I am having a problem with the technology of this forum to debate a topic that I post. I post a topic and my initial argument and expect to develop that argument as I am asked questions and ask other questions. I consider all of my answers to be my argument. The problem I am having is that my answers are dispersed by each thread created by a new question and so my argument is fragmented into different conversations and never delivered in order or complete in any single conversation. This becomes obvious by new questions the longer the debate continues. Am I using the technology incorrectly or is it not suitable for this purpose?

@craig:

I'm a wee bit confused. Are you starting a thread on one specific topic but expecting it to continually bifurcate into new topics as part of a "grand idea"? Or are you posting a "grand idea" topic and trying to avoid tangents and derailments by starting new threads to flesh out other facets of the "grand idea"? Until I understand better what your source of frustration is, there is little I can offer in the way of advice. Could you link to a thread of yours on this forum which has gone awry and describe your problem using the thread as a road map to illustrate your what is frustrating you?