• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

Your long term care questions.

btthegreat

DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Liberal
I am a Certified Dietary Manager who has worked in nursing homes, memory care and assisted living facilities for decades. I have some limited understanding of how these facilities work, how they are structured to meet medicaid and medicare regulations etc, and much a deeper understanding of how these kitchens and dining programs work. I know the diets/ texture modifications, assessments, nutrition screens are written etc, why the menus written are the way they are etc.

If you have questions about any of this, I am willing to answer based on my experience and training.

I also know what I do NOT KNOW, so lets not get into why your Mom was prescribed drug X or why the physical therapist decreased the number of scheduled minutes or visits for your uncle.

My mom worked in a nursing home and said people were treated awful. Is that a general thing?