• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

[W:#113]Mass Sociopathy

NWRatCon

Eco**Social Marketeer
DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Other
This is a thought process still in development, so some of the conceptions may be disparate. Because the content will tend to be dark and perceived as accusatory, I began it here in the Loft to focus on the concepts, not the subjects.

In college, as an ancillary to my career path in law, I studied what was called "abnormal psychology". I do not have any credentials in it, but it has been an interest of mine for decades.

As the Thread Title suggests, there are two fundamental concepts at work here, so I am going to define them before I get into the meat of the discussion. First is sociopathy. From Psychology Today:

"Sociopathy refers to a pattern of antisocial behaviors and attitudes, including manipulation, deceit, aggression, and a lack of empathy for others. Sociopathy is a non-diagnostic term, and it is not synonymous with "psychopathy," though the overlap leads to frequent confusion. Sociopaths may or may not break the law, but by exploiting and manipulating others, they violate the trust that the human enterprise runs on.