• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!
  • Welcome to our archives. No new posts are allowed here.

Trying to explain and understand NCLB

Paladin

Reaction score
Political Leaning
Liberal
As you can see, I am a noob to these forums, but not to debate forums in general. So if this issue has been debated to death, please forgive me.

As a teacher and member of the National Education Association teachers union I have always opposed the No Child Left Behind act signed into law by Bush. Unfortunately, sometimes I think I opposed it because it was affiliated with Bush and because my union opposed it.

Lately, I've had the opportunity to examine the act and understand it more. Especially since the school I work at has been classified SINA (School In Need of Assistance) because we were unable to test 95% of our students last year.

Therein lies one of the problems with NCLB. If less than 95% of your students show up on a standardized test day, your school falls into the SINA category. You can schedule make-up dates, but if parents hold their kids out, your school is still at fault. And if kids refuse to take the test or play hookey that day, you are still at fault.

Two other problems with NCLB, and the ones that are most bothersome to me, is how a school is graded out.