• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

QE for Dummies

Good4Nothin

DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Slightly Conservative
I am not a financial professional, and this is just my amateur understanding of the convoluted logic of QE. Most people probably don't even know what QE is, so hopefully this will be useful to someone.

QE stands for "quantitative easing," which is Fed speak for money creation. How does the Fed (Federal Reserve bank) create money, and why does it create money?

The Fed was created in 1913 and its job has been to prevent bank runs, and to control the money supply (not too much, not too little, just the right amount of money in circulation).

(Please don't get upset if I don't get every detail perfect, I am going on memory and this is supposed to be a rough outline).

Then we had the 2008 crisis, and the Fed decided it need to do more than just prevent bank runs and control the money supply. It also needed to prevent major crashes.

So we had the big bank bailouts that we all loved so much. And the Fed began doing QE on a massive scale, supposedly to keep the economy afloat.

What is QE? The Fed creates money by buying bonds -- government bonds, corporate bonds, mortgage-backed securities. Now, normally bonds are bought by private investors, because they think the government or company selling the bonds is worth something. They think owning the bonds will pay off.