• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

In depth background checks and certification in weapon handling an answer?

I am a US Navy veteran and a proponent of more in depth background checks being implemented prior to purchasing a weapon capable of projecting any device at range that can take a life. This includes everything from a crossbow to a firearm of any calibre. I realize this may be stepping out a bit as many out there may feel arrow based weapons should not be included but I will tell you, in the right hands, they are formidable and capable of taking multiple lives in a very short period of time.....from a substantial distance.

I limit my intent here to weapons that can project or send a deadly projectile or device at range from a remote and concealed location. Yes, one could mount a MK 46 in the back of a box van...but lets keep things real here.....or at least somewhat real!