• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

EMNs Reactionary Reader: The Decadent Society, by Ross Douthat

EMNofSeattle

No Russian ever called me deplorable
Banned
DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Very Conservative
I haven't published a book review in some time, largely this is because I work a wage job for a living and haven't had time to read, but also this is because I am reading a 1200 page scholary biography on Napoleon Bonaparte and this book will require at least one more rereading before I'm ready to write a review. I believe such a review will take at least three or four posts in the thread just for the review, it will be like a college essay (which I haven't done for 5 years at this point) and so that will take another month.

In the meantime, I listened to the The Decadent Society by Ross Douthat and will quickly summarize it here.

Ross Douthat is the house conservative, chained in the basement of the New York Times. Best I can tell he's like the gimp in Pulp Fiction, he lives in the box until the Times needs a ridiculous column on missing White Anglo protestants ( Opinion | Why We Miss the WASPs - The New York Times (nytimes.com) ) or denouncing conservative protestors in lockstep with the media left. Ross is actually a decent thinker, but he needs to free himself from the chains of the Cathedral. In any instance I see no need to summarize his biography so we'll go on.