• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

Duane Allman & Berry Oakley CRASH SITE

Chomsky

Social Democrat
DP Veteran
Reaction score
Political Leaning
Liberal
I just barely missed coming of age in the '60's (& missed 'Nam - by one year!), but as a young amateur guitarist I cut my teeth on the amazing plethora of material that we now refer to as 'classic rock', along with digging into the seminal electric blues roots of my city which were often the inspiration of much of this music - stealing licks & copying riffs wherever I could - it was wondrous!

And we often think of the Stones, The Who, The Dead, etc,. but sometimes I think The Allman Brothers get a bit overlooked, especially for those of us well above the Mason-Dixon. As a 14 y.o. budding guitarist when their early albums came out, I can't tell you how much I dug into them, line by line, note by note. They were 'guitarist's guitarists', playing guitar-centric compositions that were often extended jams, and had those beautiful dueling harmonic twin leads - and they were very much blues based! In other words, perfect for me to score my first neophyte chops!