• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every person's position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

China bans government use of Windows 8

I've been working in the industry for 14 years now and got started supporting the Win98-->XP transition. This all sounds so familiar to me. "Why' are they dropping Windows 98? XP is too slow and buggy!"

People seem to forget how long it took to make XP the OS that everyone loves today.

I wonder how many of the XP users here use the 64bit version? I wonder if the 32bit folks realize how much of their ram is being wasted by the asinine way 32bit XP addresses ram?

I wonder if they have just gotten used to the hard drive churning all the time, non stop, because of the way XP treats pagefiles (answer: like a baby treats a diaper)? I wonder how often they defragment their hard drive and other archaic "fixes" to resolve XP's shortcomings?

I wonder how many XP users just take it for granted that you need to reinstall XP every year and a half to flush the myriad untraceable crap that XP writes to the registry and hard drive and then seems to forget?

How old are the peripherals plugged into the XP desktop? Don't expect to find drivers online.

I will grant that if anyone is planning on installing Windows 7 or 8 on a system that they bought with XP installed then they are going to have bad times. The XP OS is 13 years old! It is as polished as it can get and it is still problematic in a number of ways.