• This is a political forum that is non-biased/non-partisan and treats every persons position on topics equally. This debate forum is not aligned to any political party. In today's politics, many ideas are split between and even within all the political parties. Often we find ourselves agreeing on one platform but some topics break our mold. We are here to discuss them in a civil political debate. If this is your first visit to our political forums, be sure to check out the RULES. Registering for debate politics is necessary before posting. Register today to participate - it's free!

Can't make paragraphs

joko104

DP Veteran
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
61,047
Reaction score
21,577
Gender
Undisclosed
Political Leaning
Undisclosed
Often I am not allowed to make paragraphs. Only to have one run-on messages. With Explorer and Windows 7. If I then write on word pad or word, it messes it all up and often showing the coding too. Anyone else have that problem?
 

Lutherf

Supporting Member
DP Veteran
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
45,073
Location
Tucson, AZ
Gender
Male
Political Leaning
Conservative
IE7 is WAY outdated. Either upgrade or, better yet, switch to FF or Chrome.
 

nota bene

Moderator
DP Veteran
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
60,246
Reaction score
32,990
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Conservative
Often I am not allowed to make paragraphs. Only to have one run-on messages. With Explorer and Windows 7. If I then write on word pad or word, it messes it all up and often showing the coding too. Anyone else have that problem?
Yes. And I have IE9, so I don't think the problem's with the browser. Sometimes when I post, I can't even skip past the quote to which I'm responding and have to begin on the same line and without being able to paragraph either.
 

MaggieD

Supporting Member
Monthly Subscriber
DP Veteran
Joined
Jul 9, 2010
Messages
43,244
Reaction score
44,659
Location
Chicago Area
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Moderate
Often I am not allowed to make paragraphs. Only to have one run-on messages. With Explorer and Windows 7. If I then write on word pad or word, it messes it all up and often showing the coding too. Anyone else have that problem?
Download Google Chrome. Your problems will most likely evaporate.
 

Superfly

Not Quite The Same
DP Veteran
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
36,820
Reaction score
23,061
Location
Tucson to Tucumcari, Tehachapi to Tonapah
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Liberal
Often I am not allowed to make paragraphs. Only to have one run-on messages. With Explorer and Windows 7. If I then write on word pad or word, it messes it all up and often showing the coding too. Anyone else have that problem?
Yes. About 50% of the time that I post. It's frustrating, but I didn't post it here because I thought it was something wrong with my computer.
 

Superfly

Not Quite The Same
DP Veteran
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
36,820
Reaction score
23,061
Location
Tucson to Tucumcari, Tehachapi to Tonapah
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Liberal
Yes. And I have IE9, so I don't think the problem's with the browser. Sometimes when I post, I can't even skip past the quote to which I'm responding and have to begin on the same line and without being able to paragraph either.
Same. I've tried to upload pictures, and have to start the text immediately to the right of the picture, and submit the post, then quickly hit edit so I can fix it. It always works once you hit "edit" so I don't know what the problem is, but this is annoying. It only happens here, so I thought it might have something to do with the site, but was too embarrassed to ask, because I didn't know how to ask without looking like an idiot. :lol:
 

GottaGo

Rock and a hard place
DP Veteran
Joined
Dec 2, 2012
Messages
5,635
Reaction score
4,910
Location
Miles to go before I sleep
Gender
Undisclosed
Political Leaning
Independent
I've had it at other sites, but not here.

Try clicking on the compatibility icon up on the Explorer bar, sometimes that helps.
 

Schweddy

Benevolent Dictator
Administrator
DP Veteran
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
12,178
Reaction score
6,283
Location
Plano, TX
Gender
Male
Political Leaning
Libertarian - Right
IE7 is not supported with our software. Please use IE8+.

For best results, use Firefox or Chrome. The java script used for the editor is not very good with IE in general.
 

nota bene

Moderator
DP Veteran
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
60,246
Reaction score
32,990
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Conservative
Ew. *shudder* I clicked on it, and it put a bunch of scrolling bars on the page. Horizontal and vertical scroll bars.
Thanks for the heads-up.
 

nota bene

Moderator
DP Veteran
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
60,246
Reaction score
32,990
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Conservative
IE7 is not supported with our software. Please use IE8+.

For best results, use Firefox or Chrome. The java script used for the editor is not very good with IE in general.
Thank you for the reality-check.
 

sangha

DP Veteran
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
67,218
Reaction score
28,523
Location
Lower Hudson Valley, NY
Gender
Male
Political Leaning
Independent
Same. I've tried to upload pictures, and have to start the text immediately to the right of the picture, and submit the post, then quickly hit edit so I can fix it. It always works once you hit "edit" so I don't know what the problem is, but this is annoying. It only happens here, so I thought it might have something to do with the site, but was too embarrassed to ask, because I didn't know how to ask without looking like an idiot. :lol:
I've had the same problem on occasion, and it doesn't happen when I'm editing a post.
 

DiAnna

Hooter Babe
Dungeon Master
Supporting Member
Monthly Subscriber
DP Veteran
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
46,325
Reaction score
24,879
Location
Northern California
Gender
Female
Political Leaning
Independent
IE7 is not supported with our software. Please use IE8+.

For best results, use Firefox or Chrome. The java script used for the editor is not very good with IE in general.
Best advice I ever got. I'm a creature of habit, but after 15 years of IE userdom, I timidly downloaded Chrome and love it!
 

joko104

DP Veteran
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
61,047
Reaction score
21,577
Gender
Undisclosed
Political Leaning
Undisclosed
I've had the same problem on occasion, and it doesn't happen when I'm editing a post.
The same here. MANY times I've posted without paragraphs and then immediately edited it to give it paragraphs.

I'll just use Firefox and see if that solves it.
 

joko104

DP Veteran
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
61,047
Reaction score
21,577
Gender
Undisclosed
Political Leaning
Undisclosed
Thanks for the advice to use FireFox. I don't use Google Chrome because I don't want a 100% monopoly by Google of the Internet. They are a vicious and arrogant company enough as it is.
 

American

Constitutionalist
Bartender
Supporting Member
Monthly Subscriber
DP Veteran
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
88,881
Reaction score
27,942
Location
SE Virginia
Gender
Male
Political Leaning
Conservative
Just clear the formatting (little AA button on the far left) and your problem is solved.
 
Top Bottom